What Muslim has to know about Zakat What is Zakat?

It is the third pillar of the 5 pillars of Islam. It is a kind of worship in which every Muslim has to give money to the poor. Zakat is also defined as a part of the wealth that has to be paid every year for other Muslims to support those most in need. The main aim of Zakat is to purify our yearly earnings

Who deserves Zakat?

Paying it needs some criteria, and also receiving it needs some criteria.

And here we will know who has to pay it?

This person has to be:

● Muslim. ● Sane person. ● Adult (past the age of puberty). ● His wealth must exceed the value of Nisab. In other words, we can say, every Muslim who past the age who earns more than his essential need must pay a proportion of his wealth as Zakat. Allah Almighty said in his great book the Holy Quran:

خُذْ مِنْ أَمْوَالِهِمْ صَدَقَةً تُطَهِّرُهُمْ وَتُزَكِّيهِم بِهَا وَصَلِّ عَلَيْهِمْ ۖ إِنَّ  صَلَاتَكَ سَكَنٌ لَّهُمْ ۗ وَاللَّهُ سَمِيعٌ عَلِيمٌ

In this verse (103) of Surah Tawba, Allah asked his Messenger Muhammad (SAW) to ask his people to pay Zakat in order to purify their money.

There also conditions to receive Zakat which are:

● Poor people who need financial support due to their low income. They are named (Fokaraa). ● People who don’t have their daily food (Masakin). ● People who are employed to distribute it (Amlin). ● People who are in captivity (Riqab). ● People who are in debt, or who draw money and can’t pay it back (Gharimin). ● People who fight for Allah (they are also named Fisabilillah). ● Travelers who always suffer (Ibnus Sabil). ● People who are new in Islam, or who are friends of the Muslim community (Muallaf). So distributing it must be only for those people who deserve it to obey the rules of Allah.

Is there one type of Zakat?

There are many types of it which we will know here. 1. Plant and fruits: The value of Nisab of this type is 610 kilograms of the crop such as dates and wheat. This type of Zakat is subdivided into these 2 divisions: a. If the plant is watered by paid water, so the Zakat will be 5% of the total plant. b. And if the plant is watered by rainwater, so the ratio must be 10% of the total plant.

2. Zakat of trade offers:

Trade offers are all what muslim have and want to trade.
3. Zakat of banknotes:
It must be a year old. It includes all of the money Muslim has after removing debts. After removing the debts, take 2.5% of the total amount by multiplying it by 2.5%.
4. For lands:
This is another type of it in which Muslim has to pay zakat if he wants to rent the land to someone, but if he wants to build on it, there will be no Zakat for it. These are some but not all types of Zakat. We must pay it to get Allah’s satisfaction and earnings purification.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
Rattil Online
Alsalmu Alikom Welcome to our site
Get 50% Off upon subscribing in any course of your choice at RattilOnline for the first month
jazak Allah khayra